The annual growth of the Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards which will presented for the seventh time this year, as well as changes from wards to districts, forced the organisers to adapt accordingly, without sacrificing the authenticity of the term “terroir” in this exclusive wine competition.

After many discussions with important role players there was consensus that small districts that are not divided into wards qualify as areas that truly represent a specific soil and climate. Wines certified as Wine of Origin from those smaller districts can also participate, namely Calitzdorp, Cape Point, Citrusdal Valley, Elgin, Franschhoek, Langeberg-Garcia, Plettenberg Bay, Tulbagh and Wellington.

“Only wines certified as a single vineyard wine, estate wine or wine from a ward could participate to actually represent terroir wines. But, with wards such as Franschhoek and Elgin, which were recently changed from wards within districts, to independent districts by the Demarcation Committee of the Wine and Spirits Board, after it was requested by producers, we had to adapt accordingly.

“It would have been unfair to now disqualify those areas and it came to mind that all the smaller districts that are not divided into wards, actually qualify to participate,” says Marius Labuschagne, founder and project leader of Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards.

After the intense interest and reaction to the first Novare Trophy for the SA Terroir Top Wine Estate, it was decided that as of 2012 to also announce the Top 5 Estate Wines entered. These five estate wines which received the highest ratings, would thus be acknowledged.

Last year Jordan Estate won the first ever Top Wine Estate Trophy. Another highlight is the third Novare Trophy for the Top Wine Area, which in 2010 and 2011 was won by Wellington and Durbanville respectively.

This year’s seven judges, all with many years experience tasting all the wines from all the terrains are Andrea Freeborough, Dave Hughes, David Biggs, Pierre Marais, Marilyn Cooper, Irina von Holdt and Guy Webber. The best wines created by the different soils and climates stand out and are recognised.

The National Winners of the Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards will be honoured at the annual awards ceremony with certificates. The winning wines of categorised areas will be announced in the official results documentation and certificates can be ordered. A self-adhesive decal (for bottle use) can be ordered for both the national winners and district/ward winners. The Wine and Spirits Board supports the competition and will verify the legitimacy of all the entries. The closing date for entries is 22 June 2012.

More information is available on, or contact Elma Brand, project coordinator (tel. 021 863 0397;, or Marius Labuschagne, project leader (tel. 021 975 8166;